top of page

                                                          SIGNED COPIES

 

After tragedy, how do we find hope? A memoir about what it takes to get through the very worst of times from Rosie Batty - a singular woman who has experienced tragedy, who had lost all hope, yet now is intent on finding it again.

On a warm summer's evening in February 2014, eleven-year-old Luke Batty was killed by his father at cricket practice. It was a horrific act of family violence that shocked Australia.

The next morning, his mother Rosie bravely stood before the media. Her powerful and gut-wrenching words about family violence galvanised the nation and catapulted her into the spotlight. From that day on, Rosie Batty campaigned tirelessly to protect women and children, winning hearts and minds with her courage and compassion, singlehandedly changing the conversation around domestic violence in this country. Rosie's remarkable efforts were recognised when she became the 2015 Australian of the Year and a year later she was named one of the World's Greatest Leaders by Fortune magazine. However, behind Rosie's steely public resolve and seemingly unbreakable spirit, she was a mum grieving the loss of her adored son.

>What happens when you become an accidental hero? What happens the day after the worst day of your life? What happens when you are forced to confront the emptiness and silence of a house that once buzzed with the energy of a teenage son?

You go to dark places from which you're not sure you'll ever recover.

Following on from her runaway best-seller A Mother's Story, which detailed the lead up to her son's murder, Hope shares what happened to Rosie the day after the worst day of her life and how she reclaimed hope when all hope was lost. She shares her struggles with anxiety, PTSD, self-doubt and self-loathing and how she finally confronted her grief. She shares the stories of those who have inspired her to keep going, and given her hope when she needed it most. In this heartfelt, and at times heartbreaking memoir, Rosie tells how she found the light on her darkest days and how she found hope to carry on.

 

About the Author

In an incident that shocked Australia, Rosie Batty's 11-year-old son was killed by his father in a violent incident in February 2014. Greg Anderson murdered Luke Batty at cricket training and was then himself shot by police. Rosie has since become a passionate campaigner on the issue of family violence. She won the Pride of Australia Award in 2014, and was named Australian of the Year in January 2015.

Hope - SIGNED

SKU: 9781460760291
$34.99Price
  • The inspiring and deeply moving new book about finding peace from the bestselling author of A MOTHERS STORY, for readers of Leigh Sales, Julia Baird, Turia Pitt and Indira Naidoo

bottom of page