top of page

High Tea at The Convent, Daylesford

p4vy0o1r.jpeg
the-engravers-secret.jpeg

What better way to celebrate a thrilling art history novel, with the best cover we've seen all year, than with High Tea at the gothic and very beautiful Daylesford convent with Australian born but Netherlands-based, Lisa Medved.

About the The Engraver's secret:

Two women, a mysterious map, and a family secret spanning hundreds of years ... A stunning art history thriller set around the life, times, and feuds of the artist Peter Paul Rubens. What do you do when the weight of betrayal grows too heavy to bear?

 

'An inspired blend of history and suspense ... This wonderful debut novel will inhabit your dreams' Dominic Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Painting of Sara de Vos and Return to Valetto

 

'Art and history collide in this sumptuous novel of dark secrets, family, violence and treachery' Karen Brooks, bestselling author of The Good Wife of Bath, The Brewer's Tale and The Escapades of Tribulation Johnson

 

Spanish Netherlands, 1620s: raised by her father Lucas to know her mind, Antonia Vorsterman sees everything that goes on in her world – all the rivalries and jealousies that course through the artists' studios and workshops of Antwerp.

Drawn into the lively household of the artist Peter Paul Rubens, whose work her father engraves for a living, Antonia begins to see a life of colour and possibility for herself – until Lucas entrusts her with a terrible secret that will alter the course of their family's future.

Belgium, present day: haunted by the recent loss of her mother, art historian Charlotte Hubert moves to Antwerp to research her hero, the Baroque master Rubens, and to seek answers about the father she's never met.

But a startling discovery hidden inside an ancient map folio turns Charlotte's quiet academic life into a dangerous hunt for long-lost treasures, missing for 400 years. In the shadowy cloisters of the university, where ambition, obsession and violence run deep, nothing is as it seems. Charlotte is certain of one thing – no one can be trusted.

 

A gripping and captivating debut art history novel for fans of Jessie Burton, Pip Williams, Tracy Chevalier and Maggie O'Farrell.

About the Author:

Lisa Medved is an author who's debut novel has a dual timeline set in modern-day and seventeenth-century Antwerp.

 

The Engraver’s Secret is a story about family secrets and father-daughter relationships, the consequences of betrayal and prejudice, and the challenges of learning to trust and forgive.

Lisa is currently working on her second novel, which is set in fin-de-siècle Vienna and post-WWI London, focusing on the art of Gustav Klimt and two women searching for where they belong in the world.

Date:     Saturday April 27 2024 

Time:     2 00pm to 4 30pm

Venue:   The Convent, Daly Street, Daylesford.

Cost:      $105 which includes a copy of The Engraver's Secret and a delicious High Tea with a glass of bubbles or soft drink on arrival, a fabulous conversation and a chance to have your book signed. 

By proceeding to purchase tickets using the button below you accept the Northern Books general terms and conditions

bottom of page